Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

eikonabridge
Veteran
Veteran

07 Feb 2015, 5:51 am

I think the mantra "parents have the right to raise their children as they see fit" is sacrosanct. Period.

That being said, it's OK for people to express opinions and discuss. And this came out a few days ago.
http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2015/01/150129-public-opinion-aaas-health-education-science/
Quite a number of scientists (even some doctors that I know) have refused vaccines for their children. To me, their number is low enough that it's not an overall concern. Personally, as a scientist myself, I make sure my children's immunization shots are up to date. What other parents want to do with their children, it's up to them. Parents make decisions, good or bad, and they will have live with those decisions for the rest of their lives.

---

As for cause of autism, I just have to chuckle. Autism has been with us since forever. It's not something new. In some of the meetings I have attended I even become aware that some families have autism running in the family for three generations. What's new is people are marrying late and having babies late. To me, that's one of the few *statistical* correlation about autism. (Statistical, because there are surely autistic children from young couples.) Another solid correlation is autism is linked to ("comorbid with") weak muscle tone.

Now hold on to your seat. Because here comes the best part, if you are interested in scientific discussion.

Gene propagation is a statistical game: there are 250 million sperm trying to fertilize one single egg, and as a recent study in 2012 has shown, the genetic variation of those 250 million sperm is just as varied as the entire society itself.