Page 1 of 2 [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Did you ever meet a real live human being in the flesh through eHarmony?
Yes 4%  4%  [ 2 ]
No 28%  28%  [ 13 ]
Never tried, but interested 23%  23%  [ 11 ]
Never tried and never will 45%  45%  [ 21 ]
Total votes : 47

Claradoon
Supporting Member
Supporting Member

03 Mar 2010, 7:20 am

I got matched at eHarmony with somebody who was obviously fake. I'm a freelance writer and since then I have seen the ads for writers to pose as a "match." I should have twigged when I said that I'm a reader and got 5 different matches who all said "James Patterson - short chapters!"

Did anybody here do any better?

Moog
Veteran
Veteran

03 Mar 2010, 8:11 am

It wasn't eHarmony, but OKcupid, another dating site. I met a woman a couple of times who I shared some interests with. It didn't go too badly, she was nice enough, but I think she just wasn't interested in me to any great extent, and I her, I suppose. I might have a look at eHarmony.

Moog
Veteran
Veteran

03 Mar 2010, 8:14 am

Heh, one of the first questions is 'how many times have you been married?' I'm guessing that this is gonna be divorcee city...

Prof_Pretorius
Veteran
Veteran

03 Mar 2010, 12:23 pm

My ex-boss, the Sinister Mr. Scrooge, signed up for EHarmony. He'd get at least 5 to 10 replies every day. It's not exactly selective.

Asp-Z
Veteran
Veteran

03 Mar 2010, 12:25 pm

Those sites are stupid. This Google parody of a dating site makes me laugh, though: http://www.google.com/romance/tour.html :lol:

starygrrl
Veteran
Veteran

03 Mar 2010, 12:41 pm

I had luck with OK cupid. I did alot of casual dating, and ultimately found my partner on that site.

I have noticed on alot of paid websites have fake postings, including eharmony. I personally don't like eHarmony for a variety of reasons (partially because OKcupid does something similiar better, and its a free site).

Northeastern292
Veteran
Veteran

03 Mar 2010, 6:47 pm