Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Spyral
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

11 Sep 2010, 8:02 pm

I don't know if this is the right forum to ask this, but does anyone else ever mimic other people's accents or vocal cadences? I have a professor from London with a distinct British accent and after that class, I find myself mimicking her accent. I realize it's probably a bad thing to do so I work really hard not to, but in my head I still say things in that accent. (Oh yeah, I talk to myself in my head a LOT). When I'm with other friends sometimes I notice copying their accents and vocal cadences.

I suspect this has something to do with trying to pick up on social cues and mimicking other people's social behaviors, but I'm new to this so I'm not sure.

puddingmouse
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2010, 8:07 pm

Yes. I wish I didn't. I must sound like I'm making fun of people or being fake.

I've copied these accents because people I liked had them: Russian, Portugese, Cockney, Yorkshire, Welsh, and Japanese. I stop myself as soon as I realise I'm doing it. :oops:

Drummer
Butterfly
Butterfly

11 Sep 2010, 8:12 pm

Ditto here. I did it all the time as a kid. I don't speak with a Texan accent because I learned the bland California accent of all the actors on TV. Later in school I had a perfect Russian accent. A Russian instructor asked if I had a musical ear, but I had never picked up an instrument before. Later, my Russian accent changed to match those of the other students I spoke with outside class. I really couldn't help it, but I think I've largely grown out of it.

auntblabby
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2010, 8:18 pm

i wish i had that particular social gift, but i don't. i suspect that people on the spectrum who have that particular ability are very high-functioning indeed.

Erisad
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2010, 8:20 pm

I do that sometimes. I don't think anyone has taken offense to it though. :D

puddingmouse
Veteran
Veteran

11 Sep 2010, 8:33 pm

auntblabby wrote: