Medications: brand names vs generic names

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

SteelMaiden
Veteran
Veteran

11 Jan 2011, 1:49 am

Is it just because I'm a pharmacology student or are there other people here that wince when you see someone refer to a drug by its brand name? I.e. "I take Celexa", "Seroquel is....." ARGH

Kaybee
Veteran
Veteran

11 Jan 2011, 3:05 am

My inner pedant says: If they take the brand name, it makes sense to refer to the brand name. If they take the generic, they should refer to the generic name. It is a minor thing, however.

kx250rider
Supporting Member
Supporting Member

11 Jan 2011, 12:51 pm

I think it's like how we all say we'll "Xerox" that paper, even if the copier at hand is an IBM or a Canon. Or we put something in the Fridge, even if we have a Whirlpool refrigerator (as opposed to the original Frigidaire).

Charles

gramirez
Veteran
Veteran

11 Jan 2011, 1:24 pm

People are more likely to be familiar with brand names than generics. If I were to mention "Prozac", everyone would know what I was talking about. If I said "Fluoxetine", the generic prozac, I doubt many people would know what that is.

nick007
Veteran
Veteran

Location: was Louisiana but now Vermont in the police state called USA

11 Jan 2011, 5:56 pm

I'm going to say what most are probably thinking.
EXTREMELY CONFUSING

"Hear all, trust nothing"
~Ferengi Rule Of Acquisition #190
https://memory-alpha.fandom.com/wiki/Ru ... cquisition

SteelMaiden
Veteran
Veteran

12 Jan 2011, 8:36 am

Fair enough. I have the BNF (British National Formulary book) at home and I think it is terribly confusing to have multiple brand names for one medication. And different countries sometimes use different brand names. Too confusing

markko
Raven
Raven

12 Jan 2011, 4:39 pm

SteelMaiden wrote:
Is it just because I'm a pharmacology student or are there other people here that wince when you see someone refer to a drug by its brand name? I.e. "I take Celexa", "Seroquel is....." ARGH