PDD-NOS? Aspergers? Atypical Aspergers? HFA? So confused! :x

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

LuckyLeft
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

18 Jul 2011, 10:49 pm

I'm fairly new to this page; in fact, this is my first post, and I need to speak to people who are like me. I'm confused with what is exactly wrong with me, but telling my story may have an idea of what I exactly have.

I was diagnosed with PDD-NOS when I was three years old. I was echolalic, and in my own world, and had several sensory issues. I received IEPs until I was until the 3rd grade. My obscure obsessions when I was younger included lightpoles and phonebooks. I would identify lightpoles reminding me of different types of people or with occupations, and with phonebooks, I would count up which sections would have the most pages, and compare them to Kingdom ruling. Which brings me to my other obsessions that I developed after the previous two mentioned started to dwindle. I was obsessed with encyclopedias. Mainly because of the History and the facts. While kids were reading Goosebumps, I read encyclopedias, and anything related to history. I also became obsessed with cartoon-style art I drew a lot, mainly failed attempts of Looney Tunes characters. Then, I started to obsess over dogs. I even nicknamed my little sister, who was an infant around that particular obsession, I nicknamed Rin Tin Tin, the famous TV German Shepherd. I was extremely shy, and socially awkward, and was picked on on a regular basis. I did have friends, but I have a tendency to be either too trusting, or not be at all because of it, and I was the former for a long time, which probably led to a lot of my ridicule.