Page 1 of 3 [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

FearOfMusic
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2011, 10:59 am

I notice that most people tend to use sort on inconsequential expletives in casual conversation. Things like "We have been waiting a damn long time" instead of just "We have been waiting a very long time". I rarely do this sort of thing and when I do it feels and sounds very forced. Whenever I swear I feel like I am breaking a rule. Even my parents do this sort of thing in casual conversation (though they really probably only started doing that since I graduated high school). I just feel very uneasy about casual swearing even though everyone around me see to be comfortable with the idea.

The only times I like to use a swear words is if I think it will be useful to the other person, and even then they aren't really the words the reflect how I feel. Lots of people seem to use swear words rather frequently when they are angry... but even when I am angry I don't naturally jump to these kinds of words.

I've been trying to use them a little bit more in conversation... it isn't too difficult with online chat, but in face-to-face conversation I still don't feel like I know when it is appropriate to use them. I worry that I might come off as too rigid or child-like because I don't use some of these words casually. Or if I start using them more I might seem more rude/arrogant. Anyone else seem to have problems using swear words in casual conversation?

bradt4evr
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

05 Aug 2011, 11:13 am

I have no problem using it in casual conversation when i want to, but the thing is i ususally dont want to, if i swear while conversing its because someone made me extremely mad and i feel like punching someone, I never like it when people casually swear when you dont need to, it always makes them come across to me as someone who is a little uncouth.

sgrannel
Veteran
Veteran

05 Aug 2011, 11:19 am