Page 1 of 2 [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Abgal64
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

26 Aug 2011, 6:23 pm

Hello, I am a newbie and I want to begin programming. I was wondering what programming language I should learn; I use Ubuntu on an Acer laptop for the record and want something compatible with it as I do not use Windows and Mac very frequently (though I can use the both acceptably for average things.)

What I want to do first with whatever programming language I learn is to make a clock that tells base 16-adic (hexadecimal without a zero) time, basically like the hexclock of Nystrom save that noon is 7GG instead of 800 and so on. I will move on from there when I get done.

I have read about it and I think Python would be the best choice but I was wondering if anyone here had any other ideas or could just point me to places to learn it online. I am also interested in learning a visual programming language and wonder which VPL would be the easiest to learn, either before or after Python or another text based programming language.

I think that I am very good at teaching myself things and in solving complex problems so I think I could teach myself a programming language if I put the effort into learning it that I did with learning Sumerian.

Thanks for the help! :D

Oodain
Veteran
Veteran

26 Aug 2011, 7:11 pm

python is definately a nice starting language, it didnt take long for me to feel comfortable programming in it.

here is a decent "taster" of python, it explains the basics that apply to most languages using python and gives you enough info to start a serious tutorial, it took me a acouple of hours or so.
it has a nice collection of links too.

learning python for the complete noob.

the scent of the tamarillo is pungent and powerfull,
woe be to the nose who nears it.

AspieWolf
Veteran
Veteran

26 Aug 2011, 8:24 pm

What? There are other programming languages besides Fortran IV? Surely that is not possible! What else could you possibly want?