Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

kath32982
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

18 Sep 2011, 3:18 pm

I am a classroom teacher of elementary students. I have a student on the spectrum in my classroom who was previously bullied. The school did a fabulous job and stopped the bullying and it has not resumed. The student has not forgotten about the bullying and every time the offending student says something to him, he takes it as the student is making fun of him. Are there any suggestions to help my student on the spectrum?

Last edited by kath32982 on 18 Sep 2011, 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jellybean
Veteran
Veteran

18 Sep 2011, 3:33 pm

Hello. I can't offer advice as such but I can offer insight. I have been bullied (a lot) and due to my very rigid 'black and white thinking' I can only see people as bad or good. If my first experience of a person is good and they later do something bad, I still think of them as good and this can cause me problems. On the complete opposite end, If I think of someone as bad, I can't let that go either, so even if the ex-bully was trying to make amends, I would not allow it because to me, that person was and still must be a bully. I don't know if that makes sense. I don't know if that's what is happening in this student's case but it does sound like it. Maybe setting aside some 1:1 time to talk to him about the bully and how he is not going to be mean any more would help. I don't know really but it's worth a try!

AtticusKane
Toucan
Toucan

18 Sep 2011, 3:35 pm

Yea, it does suck. For a time I was suspicious of everyone that would talk to me, that they might be tricking me just trying to get me to slip up and do something stupid. It takes time...