Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

JackCaliber
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

16 May 2012, 9:10 am

So I'm in my first year of this REALLY prestigious animation MFA program that Pixar and Dreamworks recruit from regularly, and pretty much every single girl here fits the criteria of dream girl, save this one I feel more fraternal about. I know the best thing to do in this situation is to be better friends with EVERYONE before making any kind of serious moves, but I can't help but spazz out when a pop singing, piano playing ballerina with animation skills that exceed my own raises her eyebrows at me.

I interact much more smoothly with the girls that are already in healthy relationships or the one I feel that fraternal bond with. I'm getting kind of nervous that fraternal girl's gonna suspect I talk so much more to her because I like her, and she'll confess some feelings for me, and I'll have to give her that dreaded "I like you like a sister" talk.

I guess what I'm asking is... any tips for becoming better friends with girls your undeniably interested in?

AardvarkGoodSwimmer
Veteran
Veteran

16 May 2012, 11:15 am

Wow, first off congrats on what sounds like a really good program. :D

Okay, I think we all have an internal censor, both those of us on the spectrum and those of us who are 'normal' (and no such thing as 'normal' anyway and how boring the world would be if there was! :jester: ) So, I think we are familiar with the experience of quickly reviewing something before we say it. I have had a considerable amount of success making a conscious decision to turn down my internal censor so that the default setting is that it's probably okay to go ahead and say it anyway, unless it really jumps out at me as inappropriate. In this way, I have taken it from an analytic left-brain skill to a more feel-and-texture right-brain skill. And this, combined with the zen approach of letting a medium mistake merely be a medium mistake, has helped my social skills a considerable amount.