Tips For Aspies In Retail/Customer Service Jobs

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

blue_stargirl
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

27 Jul 2012, 7:47 pm

Long time lurker, first time poster, by the way!

I graduated college last year, but I can't get a job in my field. I just started working as a sales associate in a department store. I'm already a bit overwhelmed by the position, and it's definitely due to being an Aspie among NT staff and customers. If anyone has any advice on surviving retail or other customer service positions, I would appreciate it (and so would other people in the same situation)!

nolan1971
Toucan
Toucan

27 Jul 2012, 8:01 pm

Been in retail of some sort for 27yrs and it is not easy!
My advice would be if you can try to choose a smaller/less hectic store to limit the volume of customers
you have to deal with. If you are in a large department store try doing stock instead of the front end
I always chose stock or working in several departments to break up the boredom and keep focused on
the work so I would be less aware of how many customers were around me( less anxiety) :D

blue_stargirl
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

27 Jul 2012, 8:48 pm

Thanks for the suggestion! Right now, I'm at the front of the store, but I'll see if I can be moved to back of the store/stock.

Nikkt
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

29 Jul 2012, 5:52 am

Alternatively, you could look at it as a learning opportunity. I hated working in retail, absolutely hated it, but I learned some of my best social skills there. Such as how to display active listening without seeming creepy, how to remember people (no good asking the same person the same question - they get annoyed), how to manage people-overload and (probably the most important skill), how to look busy when you're really not (or don't want to be).

So even though you might be feeling overwhelmed, using the job to figure out how best to manage that can benefit you for the rest of your life.

http://linguisticautistic.tumblr.com/