Page 1 of 4 [ 52 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Adam82
Veteran
Veteran

23 Nov 2012, 6:08 pm

It seems even for Aspies, I am one of the few who is still living with parents. Moving out seems a very daunting step for me to take. I can't function all that well on my own. I can't really afford to move (renting is very expensive here in Australia), and I am not in full time work at the moment, and haven't been in months.

I find it hard to hold down a job, I often get fired pretty quickly. I have a masters degree, but limited job experience. My parents nag me to move out, a lot, but I can't afford to.

This makes it very hard to make friends, and makes getting a girlfriend practically impossible (never had one of those either).

I am the typical 30 y.o nerd still living in his parents basement. I didn't expect my life to end up this way.

equestriatola
Veteran
Veteran

Location: Half of me is in the Washington state, the other Los Angeles.

23 Nov 2012, 8:52 pm

I am five years younger than you, and for the most part, I am in the same spot as you. I can certainly empathize with your sitch.

I am not empowered enough yet to change any of this, but I am hopeful.

The Canadian Football League - What We're Made Of

Feel free to talk to me, if you wish. :)

Every day is a gift- cherish it!

"A true, true friend helps a friend in need."

windtreeman
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

24 Nov 2012, 12:23 am

Aye, younger at 24 (almost 25) here and also living at home. It sucks, but at the same time, family support is almost priceless. I lived in dorms in college for two years and then an apartment for the third year (always moving back home for the summer) and I realized within a few months of the first year, that I'm pretty much useless when it comes to self-sufficiency. Every quarter of all three years, I ran out of food money but was too shy/embarrassed to ask for more and starved during each finals week. Extremely stupid but that's how it went. It sucks.

ianorlin
Veteran