Tired of family pressuring me to go back to school....

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

WhoKnowsWhy
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

20 Feb 2013, 12:29 am

Anyone else have this problem? I graduated from a Public Ivy with a high GPA and no student loan debt (had a scholarship), but have been unable to find gainful employment. My family is insistent that I have to go back to school if I'm to have any hope of getting a better job, but I just don't see it and don't feel like going back. I'm stuck between the proverbial rock and a hard place.

JBlitzen
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

20 Feb 2013, 2:33 am

What's your degree, etc.? I assume it's some liberal arts thing or social science.

And where are you located? I'm too lazy to hit the back button if it even shows.

Post your resume so we can take a look and offer more useful input.

Hell, you should be posting your resume anyway. You're looking for work, aren't you? You should be marketing yourself like a new soda; sell yourself to everyone you can reach.

I'd also suggest reading the cracked link in my sig. It seems apt.

WhoKnowsWhy
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

20 Feb 2013, 9:51 am

JBlitzen wrote:
What's your degree, etc.? I assume it's some liberal arts thing or social science.

Yes. I must be ret*d...I'm really sick of the STEM snobbery around here. STEM is not for everyone!

Quote:
And where are you located? I'm too lazy to hit the back button if it even shows.

VA.

Quote:
Post your resume so we can take a look and offer more useful input.

I've already had several people look over it (in real life, I mean...not on the internet).

Quote:
I'd also suggest reading the cracked link in my sig. It seems apt.