Encouraging + Growing Aspie preschooler's "aspie powers

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

ellemenope
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

13 Jun 2013, 7:11 am

Hi this is my first time posting on this forum, but from what I read I think it will be a great fit for me.

After a lot of soul searching and exhausting research and reflection my husband and I have gone from the painful and backward mindset of trying to "fix" our amazing son to trying to help him identify, enjoy and harness his "aspie powers" for his own advancement. Listening to and reading stuff by Grandin and Robison etc and Aspie bloggers, we're excited to have reached this place but are kind of scratching our heads wondering how to proceed.
My son is only 3 so we're off to an early start I know. But I'm wondering what kinds of things or activities I can expose him to that would encourage him to develop his talents and strengths and branch out into new things that will bring him enjoyment and success as he grows up?
I know lots of aspies love computers, technical stuff, machines etc. Right now I can't tell if my boy would like this stuff. He is really into dinosaurs, animals, insects, trucks- typical kid stuff. He loves books and reading and pictures (is echolalic and has a photographic memory). He also loves music.

What are some things I can do with my boy or give him to do that he will enjoy at this stage? He doesn't "Play" with toys like other kids, he is more in his own world when he is interacting with his toys and I think he has a lot of imaginative stuff going on. I have a hard time finding "activities" that he likes and when I try to play with him I follow his lead but don't really get what he's doing.

What did your older kids like to do when they were little that you think helped them develop skills or helped them find the special skills or talents they enjoy? Or you, if you are an aspie too?

Eureka-C
Veteran
Veteran

13 Jun 2013, 10:17 pm