Page 1 of 1 [ 2 posts ] 

NikitaV
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

04 Dec 2013, 10:51 pm

The semester is almost over and it seems it was one of te hardes I had so far.

I am a grad student in my last year, and in ordre to get my degree, I had to teach this semester (I was on a research grant the two years before).

At times I was crying, because I thought I couldn't do it. Giving a talk about my research is one thing, but trying to teach math to 40 undergrad students who don't want to be there is a totally different thing. During the days, when I have to teach, I can't do anything else, because before I am so anxious, and afterwards I am so exhausted. This interrupts the whole routine of my day.

When the teaching supervisor came to observe my class, he told me, I have to interact with the class and not speak to the black board. How can I interact with a whole class if I can't interact properly with one person?

Sometimes I walked over to the classroom, and felt my throat close, I didn't know if I could speack at all.

And I don't want to force people to learn. I don't want to make rules for adults. They go to university of their own free will, so if they don't want to do their homework, well that's their business. Unfortunately the idea seems to be that since they pay, I have the duty to teach them no matter, what they do.

Sometimes I stand their and it is as if I see only the blackboard and don't hear anything. I still say my words that I wrote down before but I am not sure anymore, if what comes out of my mouth is actually what I wanted to say.

The cultural and linguistic difference doesn't make it any easier. I was just getting a bit more comforable with the social rules in my country, when I was thrown in a different culture.

It's my fault of course, I should have considered this before, but it just didn't cross my mind. I was so excited about doing research.