Page 1 of 4 [ 64 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Dox47
Veteran
Veteran

18 Mar 2014, 11:15 pm

So, I recently came across this article and it's follow up that perfectly exemplify a number of things I hate about progressives, feminists, and other constantly aggrieved groups, and thought I'd post it here and see if this kind of thing is actually representative, or if it's more isolated and simply seems more common because of the way it stands out on the internet. The article in question is from Salon and concerns belly dancing of all things, here's a sample:

http://www.salon.com/2014/03/04/why_i_c ... y_dancers/

Randa Jarrar wrote:
Women I have confronted about this have said, “But I have been dancing for 15 years! This is something I have built a huge community on.” These women are more interested in their investment in belly dancing than in questioning and examining how their appropriation of the art causes others harm. To them, I can only say, I’m sure there are people who have been unwittingly racist for 15 years. It’s not too late. Find another form of self-expression. Make sure you’re not appropriating someone else’s.