Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

RikkiK
Pileated woodpecker
Pileated woodpecker

19 Apr 2014, 11:07 am

I'm getting evaluated for Asperger's this summer, I've recognized the symptoms in myself for years and we believe that my father has it also, you can read some of my past posts to get the whole story. I'm in my first year of college, and despite having had good grades first semester, I'm becoming more and more frustrated with how much work I seem to be putting in to do well, as compared to how little it appears my peers put in (and do just as well).

I've always been a serious procrastinator, but more problematic is the fact that homework takes me HOURS to do, despite understanding the material and having relatively light work to do (or, lighter than it could be). Ever since highschool i just didn't do my homework because i knew if i started doing it, i wouldn't finish for hours (or i would just give up and get distracted, so what's the point), but i got by on just getting A's on tests without studying. I've also been crazy messy my whole life, and truly lose or break everything I own. Now that I'm here in college, I actually have to do the work, and I have been, but I'm at that point where I have so much to do and I know it takes me at least three times as long to do work as everyone else that I truly don't see how getting it done is possible.

I'm an acting major who can't even sit through a movie. it pisses my professors off when they find out I can't read a play in one sitting and don't like watching films or plays, but I can't focus on them. my sister was finally diagnosed ADD (perhaps ADHD? don't know the details) at 23, because my father doesn't "believe" in ADD, but my mother clearly has utterly rampant ADHD, she doesn't even finish her sentences often, she gets so easily distracted.