Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

swashyrose
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

09 Jan 2015, 6:31 am

Since my bipolar became apparent I've been able to observe my own mild manic phase lately, I'm more productive and ambitious with my art, more capable of optimism. On the down side I'm much more agitated and anxious, and I keep getting exhausted. This is also the kind of time I find I'm very easily amused and sing a lot, I actually have fun, albeit a sort of intense, nervous fun.

I feel like clinging so tightly to these rare 'ups' in my life. If they are in fact a mere manic phase, wouldn't taking medication meant to remove mania also remove my creativity, passion and fun?

I've been reading quite a few things saying that yes, people's creativity has been affected but you should still take meds on behalf of your family and loved ones, who are affected especially by your lows.

I'd say two huge aspects of what I'm about are:
I'm an artist
I love my family and hate burdening them.

I hate to think I have to choose on of the above :(

G0L1
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

09 Jan 2015, 1:52 pm

Now I'm on Depakine for mood stabilization and it makes me drowsy. However, my physician insists on prescribing it. My main problem is concentration and meds are not working for this issue so far. I'm also on Bupropion and Abilify. Anyway, I'm not sure I've given you an exact answer, sorry.

structrix
Veteran
Veteran

21 Apr 2015, 8:32 am

swashyrose wrote:
Since my bipolar became apparent I've been able to observe my own mild manic phase lately, I'm more productive and ambitious with my art, more capable of optimism. On the down side I'm much more agitated and anxious, and I keep getting exhausted. This is also the kind of time I find I'm very easily amused and sing a lot, I actually have fun, albeit a sort of intense, nervous fun.