Page 1 of 5 [ 71 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

JoelFan
Veteran
Veteran

24 Jan 2015, 3:23 pm

Hey gang, right now I'm at a stand still with VR as they want me to go back to a local goodwill center for what they call "community integration training" despite the fact my work evaluation (from the same company) has stated I am at or near competitive employment status. I've tried mentioning that to my VR case manager and she kept telling me you have to go back to Goodwill because "it's a part of the program" I have seen where goodwill's "community integration" staff's people and it's retail...I've already been there and done not to mention being on the floor with florescent lights and music doesn't really do anything for my sensory issues.I know what I want to do I have some knowledge in the field that I want to get into however it seams that goodwill won't help staff me in the job/field that I want to get into but rather want me to settle for the "bottom of the barrel" type of jobs I've been told by somebody whom works with those whom are on the spectrum that VR and/or goodwill is a "one size fits all" and giving the fact that I am high functioning I will fall through the cracks (which has been the story of my life)

I'm looking to see if I can bring in an advocate to help speak on my behalf so that I can perhaps get my foot into the door in a real job.

My question for this group is: Has anybody really had any good experiences or success with finding a job using VR or goodwill? My class schedule has changed and I'm now doing two classes a week (which takes a lot out of me) and I need a day to recoup I mentioned that my class schedule has changed to one of my case managers at goodwill he basically said that it would be "futile" for me to even bother with the community integration program.

I want to try to make some side money this year but I don't want to have to resort to bottom of the barrel type of jobs. but I dunno what to do

Anybody have any advice?