Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

dryope
Toucan
Toucan

01 Apr 2015, 7:53 pm

My school, the George Washington University, has an initiative on autism that has worked with Autism Speaks for several years for this 2 April day event. I am putting my letter in below and will let you all know what they say. No need for comment -- though please correct any mistakes I may have made. Of course, please comment if you want to! Anyway, I just wanted to post this here so others would know about this kind of thing.

Here is the letter I wrote them today:

Hi AND Initiative Folks,

I'm an autistic GWU student, and I was surprised to see that my school has a connection to Autism Speaks, an organization that the autistic community has overwhelmingly spoken out against as presenting misinformation and hate speech on autistic issues.

I am shocked at this group's successful co-opting of the public's goodwill under what appear to be false pretenses. The autistic community finds this group to be offensive, both in the harmful and disrespectful treatments they recommend to parents and in their labeling of our condition as a disease.

According to public records, Autism Speaks allocates only 4% of its funds to helping autistic individuals, while it promotes dangerous treatments, such as shock therapy and anti-vaccination campaigns, and its leaders have made comments denigrating people with autism and even shown understanding for killing an autistic child. At the same time, the group has no autistic individuals on its board or in any decisionmaking capacity.

While I'm not as articulate as some others, I urge you to read some of the many statements against Autism Speaks by autistic groups and communities. This is a good example, and it links to many more:
http://autismwomensnetwork.org/to-the-c ... sm-speaks/

Here is a link to a boycott that many corporations have signed, saying they will not be affiliated with this group:
http://www.boycottautismspeaks.com/home.html