Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Sopho
Veteran
Veteran

08 Apr 2007, 8:08 pm

Does anybody else talk to themselves out loud? I do it all the time, sometimes without even noticing. I seem to have better conversations when there's nobody else in the room. Maybe it's just a way of dealing with everything that's going on in my head, but it's quite worrying, I don't want to start talking to myself in public and not realise... :?
Is this an AS thing or just me?

Smelena
Cure Neurotypicals Now!
Cure Neurotypicals Now!

08 Apr 2007, 8:19 pm

I'm new to AS issues but have done a lot of reading in the lead up to my son's recent diagnosis with Asperger's.

I read a book by Liane (Halliday?) - sorry, can't remember her last name for sure, definantly know her first name. It was called 'Redefining Normal' or something along those lines. She'd also written a book about growing up called 'Pretending to be Normal'.

She is an Aspie with an Aspie daughter, almost Aspie daughter and another NT child.

She reports in her book that she talks to herself out loud in public and this is an Aspie trait.

My 7 year old talks outloud at times. It becomes worse when he is stressed. His teacher says when he is very stressed he talks outloud while doing school work but he is unaware of it. When she asks him about it he denies he was talking at all.

Smelena

dgd1788
Veteran
Veteran

08 Apr 2007, 8:21 pm

Sometimes I wish I did that, but what would I talk about?

sunnycat
Veteran
Veteran

08 Apr 2007, 8:24 pm

I do...and I talk to my cats as well...

mariiha
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

08 Apr 2007, 8:25 pm

don't know if it is asperger oriented but i do talk to myself out loud while walking my dog late night when it is nice and dark. i have come up with a lot of interesting concepts/philosophical ideas/humorous jokes stuff like that. If anyone notices i can make it appear i am talking to my dog...he doesn't mind, he's use to it :P . maybe we really are our own best friend.

Sopho
Veteran