Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

Weavie
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

16 Aug 2007, 3:32 pm

So, I'm new to the thought that what's "weird" about me is an official "thing," and I'm going to take my boyfriend out to dinner tonight to talk to him about it in a setting that is comfortable to the both of us.

Anyone have any advice on how to break the news without being alarmist or dismissive? I want him to take this seriously, but I don't want to freak him out. He's a little bit of a "shrink"-ophobe, and he's also the first person that I'll discuss this with in person. Been there? Got words of help? Please! :-]

Ana54
Veteran
Veteran

16 Aug 2007, 3:39 pm

Just work it into the conversation. Ask him what's up, he'll ask you what's up, say you went to the shrink, he'll ask why, say to get diagnosed with something, he'll ask why... or just work it in some other way. :)

Fraya
Veteran
Veteran

16 Aug 2007, 3:57 pm

If it was me I would pop in during a lull in the conversation with "You know I recently found out that due to a genetic anomaly my brain structure is abnormal.. obviously its not too serious but it does explain a lot of the little quirks I sometimes slip up and let show such as..."

But then Ive always been keen on the direct approach.

Don't do anything at all
-----------
"White Rabbit" - Jefferson Airplane

mmaestro
Veteran
Veteran

16 Aug 2007, 5:11 pm

Hmm, really depends on age, length of relationship, that sort of thing. I mean, some people you can just say it (I imagine - I've not discussed it in any detail with anyone except my wife, but her I can just tell anything), others I imagine it would take more time. I'd probably work it in, provide information on what you're talking about before you drop the bomb.

Quote:
"So, have you ever heard of Asperger's Syndrome? I was looking over the internet and came across this thing, it's really interesting."
"No, what is it?"