Does My Boyfriend Have Asperger's??

Page 1 of 2 [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

heyley
Butterfly
Butterfly

28 Jan 2008, 2:01 am

I know this may be weird, but I’ve been studying autism and happened upon some asperger's syndrome information just recently. The thing is, I almost think my boyfriend (who is 30 years old just in case that might matter...) may have some very mild form of it. I have read all the diagnostic criteria, and am not sure he fits in perfectly, but that is hard to diagnose since I’m not an expert nor am I a professional. I was hoping someone might read this and tell me what they think, or point me in a better direction. Again, I am not sure if this is just some personality problem, or something bigger…but I swear he has some social problems…whether it is aspergers or not.

It all started with his being unable to communicate, and it causing huge problems in our relationship, and then I started seeing other things that were related...and then I happened upon the asperger's information....here we go: He told me he liked to be alone as a child, and hates looking back to his school years because he never fit in and didn't have friends really...said he always felt different. He doesn’t participate in much two way conversing: I ask him questions he answers and has lots to say because he knows a lot of information, (He is fantastically brilliant and has the most amazing detailed memory, and remembers the most insignificant details, and knows WAY too many words.) but once he is done talking, it’s like it’s over…he doesn’t engage me. He rarely asks questions to others, and is seemingly in his own world a lot, sometimes he can just go on and on about a topic too…and although it is not a particularly strange topic, I think he forgets he’s having a two way conversation.