Page 1 of 3 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

D9
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

01 Mar 2008, 9:38 pm

I am trying to get an idea if diagnostic confusion of Aspergers and Bipolar is a common problem. I realized my 9 year old son had Aspergers features as young as 3. He is now 9 and is finally receiving an appropriate diagnosis of HFA or Aspergers (we'll find out which one next week). However, I subjected him to 3 1/2 years of bipolar medications because the doctors convinced me he had bipolar with Asperger's features. Any thoughts?

SilverProteus
Veteran
Veteran

01 Mar 2008, 9:41 pm

I'm not a doctor, but that's awfully young to be dxed bipolar, isn't it? :?

D9
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

01 Mar 2008, 10:11 pm

I had never heard of diagnosing bipolar at that age. The severe meltdowns is what I think led to that diagnosis. Looking back, he most likely has HFA. He had some pretty significant behaviors in his younger years, but he always had excellent verbal skills (except when he actually needed something).

srriv345
Veteran
Veteran

01 Mar 2008, 10:42 pm

Well, I've already been diagnosed with AS but I still got the "Bipolar-NOS" label this past week. Mostly because of my meltdowns, I think. I seriously doubt that I really have bipolar, because I don't really get manic for extended periods. From my own experiences, I'd say "bipolar meds" aren't inherently bad for all people on the spectrum. I've been on Lithium and now Lamictal and neither has harmed me that much, and I think Lamictal has helped recently. But if the meds aren't helping or there are negative side effects, then by all means stop. A doctor who's familiar with the spectrum should help you sort these issues out.

asplanet
Veteran
Veteran

01 Mar 2008, 10:45 pm

I feel there is a link, well we all seem to have mood swings etc... here are my thoughts including answer from Tony Attwood..
Mood swings (Bipolar) link to aspergers !
http://asplanet.info/forum/index.php?to ... 914#msg914

regularguy
Snowy Owl