Page 1 of 3 [ 46 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Mw99
Veteran
Veteran

18 Mar 2008, 7:16 pm

Growing up, I had a reputation amongst my classmates, teachers and family members for being intelligent. As it is expected, my outlook on life was consistent with that of most people who grow up being told that they are more intelligent than their peers. In high school I never doubted for one second that I was more intelligent than almost everyone, and I even carried some of that attitude into college. But then I graduated from college, couldn't find a job to save my life, and that's when my ego took a plunge. Now I feel unintelligent (iq a point or two above average, since I managed to finish college), and can't get this idea out of my head that my college education was a four year charade. Think about this: I forgot almost all the technical skills I was supposed to have acquired in college, I am a below average worker at my current job, I have a hard time speaking clearly and articulating coherent sentences, I am a slow reader, and I never learned how to play the role of a young, college educated professional. Yeah, my ego has been shattered, and my dreams of grandeur are long gone. Now I worry about simple things, like paying the rent and not getting fired from my dead-end job.

MissPickwickian
Veteran
Veteran

18 Mar 2008, 7:35 pm