Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

nekowafer
Velociraptor
Velociraptor

01 Aug 2008, 2:49 am

So, I'm not an expert in any of these things, and I'm telling you so now, so if you disagree with anything I say you can tell me so in a calm, polite, and thoughtful manner.. I want honest opinions and knowledge about this so I can better understand myself.

I've heard that people with AS are generally very logical people. The "extreme male mind" though I don't think that describes it quite right. It's why many people that have it are considered cold and uncaring, because the logic of something is more important than the emotion of it.

I've also heard that women, in general, are emotional beings. The logic is there, but can be easily pushed aside because the emotion is too important.

I seem to have a very weird imbalance of these two things. I can completely see the logic, and see how it's important, but the emotion takes over. It doesn't take over enough for me to completely see the logic, and the logic can't take over enough to push the emotion aside.

As a basic example, I used to get very upset hearing about my boyfriend's ex-girlfriends. Logically I completely understood that he had been with others before me, and was likely to enjoy some of them more than me. It's how things work. But I would still get upset to the point of crying. I would sit there, thinking how incredibly stupid it was for me to cry, but I couldn't stop myself.

I'm better with this, thankfully, but I still do it in other situations. He makes me angry and I just cry, instead of just telling him what he did wrong.

I see the logic, and feel stupid, but I can't stop the emotion. Does anyone else experience this? Or do you think it's something different? I have not been clinically diagnosed with AS but sincerely believe I have it.

sgrannel
Veteran
Veteran

01 Aug 2008, 4:40 am

You're exactly ten years younger than me. That's interesting.

But a dog knows his boy can go wrong