Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Tim_Tex
Veteran
Veteran

10 Sep 2008, 6:44 pm

For the past year, I have been a full-time student, having attended two different schools and two different majors.

But I am troubled. Part of me feels like I should do what I want to do, yet part of me feels pressured to do something I am not really interested in order to please others.

I feel that I am supposed to follow a certain career path, make a certain amount of money, etc. because I feel that someone, somewhere, is is judging me because I have not fulfilled some sort of amazing feat by a certain time period.

I don't know what to do.

Now proficient in ChatGPT!

AnnaLemma
Deinonychus
Deinonychus

10 Sep 2008, 7:04 pm

Over my life I have worked in some very diverse fields, and found that, for me, a really great paycheck doesn't make up for the misery of a job that I took for the wrong reasons. The best jobs grew into something completely unforeseen at the outset, but were always something interesting to me. Often, these were unconventional jobs that I cobbled together from my passions, that I was kind of laughed at for pursuing, but ultimately became more than just sustainable. I'm sorry to say that I didn't become sufficiently pressure-proof until my mid-30's and wish I'd been more confident earlier on. I hope you can learn to trust your instincts.

slowmutant
Veteran
Veteran

10 Sep 2008, 8:31 pm

Tim_Tex wrote:
For the past year, I have been a full-time student, having attended two different schools and two different majors.

But I am troubled. Part of me feels like I should do what I want to do, yet part of me feels pressured to do something I am not really interested in order to please others.

I feel that I am supposed to follow a certain career path, make a certain amount of money, etc. because I feel that someone, somewhere, is is judging me because I have not fulfilled some sort of amazing feat by a certain time period.

I don't know what to do.