To homeschool or not to homeschool, that is the question

Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Lisah
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

20 Apr 2009, 5:47 pm

Would you rather have been homeschooled or do you think going to school is important? I am a certified teacher and could easily homeschool my 6 year old son, but I wonder is that what is best for him. What is your opinion?

CleverKitten
Veteran
Veteran

20 Apr 2009, 5:50 pm

Definitely homeschool him. Many people say that homeschooled children don't get exposed to 'people' enough.

But you could easily do that by taking him out in public and teaching lessons about people, and having people in the home, as well.

Check out my blog: http://glanceoutthewindow.blogspot.com/

cyberscan
Veteran
Veteran

20 Apr 2009, 8:40 pm

I think things might have been easier for me, and I would have fared better academically if I were home schooled. However, I don't know if I would be as good as I am at acting neurotypical.

grizeldatee
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

20 Apr 2009, 9:17 pm

There are pros and cons to either situation. With the exception of one year, we have had one or more children at home for the past 7 years, and all three have been home for the past two years. If you have just one child, I think homeschooling is a lot simpler. Social outings are easy to find or arrange and you can focus on a single curriculum targeted to the particular learning style of your child. (If anything, I have found myself limiting social outings so that we can get some butt-in-the-chair school work done. It would be pretty easy to play all day every day -- there are that many social opportunities.) Anyway, families choose what works best for their families, and what works best can vary from year to year.

Two things: