smudge Your worst nightmare

![]()
Joined: Sep 07, 2006 Age: 25 Posts: 2109 Location: London
|
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:33 am Post subject: Cloudfront.net |
|
|
| It appears as a website address in the status bar before it loads any websites I want to go to. How do I remove this? Is it a trojan? Many thanks. |
|
| Back to top |
|
Oodain big chief wulla bamboom alakaway


Joined: Jan 31, 2011 Age: 23 Posts: 5022 Location: in my own little tamarillo jungle,
|
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
try clearing cookies and temp. internet files first of all,
after that you should use a malware scanner, i reccomend the free malwarebytes scanner if you dont have one already.
should it persist you might want to run a tool called combofix, it can scan for hijacked dns records and fix them for you. _________________ //through chaos comes complexity//
the scent of the tamarillo is pungent and powerfull,
woe be to the nose who nears it.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
sliqua-jcooter Phoenix


Joined: Jan 26, 2010 Posts: 814 Location: Burke, Virginia, USA
|
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 12:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cloudfront is an Amazon service. Very likely not malware. _________________ Nothing posted here should be construed as the opinion or position of my company, or an official position of WrongPlanet in any way, unless specifically mentioned. |
|
| Back to top |
|
Oodain big chief wulla bamboom alakaway


Joined: Jan 31, 2011 Age: 23 Posts: 5022 Location: in my own little tamarillo jungle,
|
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| sliqua-jcooter wrote: | | Cloudfront is an Amazon service. Very likely not malware. |
didnt know that,
but why would it route other pages through cloudfront, unless amazon is his isp? _________________ //through chaos comes complexity//
the scent of the tamarillo is pungent and powerfull,
woe be to the nose who nears it.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
sliqua-jcooter Phoenix


Joined: Jan 26, 2010 Posts: 814 Location: Burke, Virginia, USA
|
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Cloudfront is a CDN - which means even if the site itself isn't using it, elements of the sites (like, say, ads) could still be using it. _________________ Nothing posted here should be construed as the opinion or position of my company, or an official position of WrongPlanet in any way, unless specifically mentioned. |
|
| Back to top |
|
smudge Your worst nightmare

![]()
Joined: Sep 07, 2006 Age: 25 Posts: 2109 Location: London
|
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you for all your replies.
It happened on Firefox. And, it happened on Johnlewis.com and Marksandspencer.com . Both sites were very slow to load.
Can anyone confirm for me whether these websites go through cloudfront.net or not? If they generally don't, then I'll download that malware software. Cheers! |
|
| Back to top |
|
Oodain big chief wulla bamboom alakaway


Joined: Jan 31, 2011 Age: 23 Posts: 5022 Location: in my own little tamarillo jungle,
|
Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
well ads can change, since google adsense beame as widespread as it is it can be hard to find repeat ads.
also a malware scan never hurts. _________________ //through chaos comes complexity//
the scent of the tamarillo is pungent and powerfull,
woe be to the nose who nears it.
|
|
| Back to top |
|
|
|