Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

jdcnosse
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2010, 4:18 pm

Do you think that it's possible to fall in love with someone's name? Like their name is somehow better then everyone elses?

rmgh
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2010, 5:22 pm

I fell i love with a birthday. Same as mine.

jdcnosse
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2010, 5:26 pm

It's possible that I'm just still in love with the person...but I just really like the name Morgan (I'd post her full name but it is the internet...)

katzefrau
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2010, 5:28 pm

jdcnosse wrote:
Do you think that it's possible to fall in love with someone's name? Like their name is somehow better then everyone elses?

i love certain names. i am a writer, and for years i have kept a list of names i like. i collect them to be turned into characters.

so i say sure, like you could fall in love with a word or a color or a leaf or a building or a pen.

but if a name has a strong positive association with a person, to me it's like finding a quirk endearing, the strange way someone pronounces something or their odd writing or something else that reminds you of the person.

rmgh
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2010, 5:34 pm

I think it's possible to be in love with the name, but probably wouldn't work without the person. And maybe you wouldn't be in love with that person if they didn't have that name.

Pistonhead
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2010, 5:49 pm

Names definitely have more or less appeal. I like names like Amy, Melanie, Stephanie, Jessica, Cassandra, etc. more than I like names like Erica, Paris, Laura, Pauline, etc.

n4mwd
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2010, 6:09 pm

It wouldn't be possible for me to fall in love with a name, person, place or thing. I can become fond of things and people though. Right now I have a personal fondness for jet skis and motorcycles, but I don't love them.

OneStepBeyond
Veteran
Veteran

04 Sep 2010, 6:31 pm

Pistonhead wrote: