Report on my Aspie meet - sob!

Page 1 of 3 [ 42 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

all_white
Veteran
Veteran

28 Mar 2011, 5:15 pm

I'm rather upset just now and wanted to get it all out of my system.

My first ever meet-up was awful.

I will try to make a long story short, but I'm not very good at that, so if you want you can just pretend that you've read all the waffle and then say "tut tut, poor you" when you get to the end.

Basically, I don't go out much. :wink:

I spent weeks counting down and building up to the fact that I WAS ACTUALLY GOING SOMEWHERE THIS EVENING and planning what to wear and how to get there and double-checking the time and location, etc. This meet was being held IN A PUB - of all non-Aspie-friendly places - so I had countless fears that I would walk in and freeze and everyone would stare at me and I wouldn't know who the Aspies were or where to sit. Relax, I told myself. You're worrying over nothing. Of course you will find them. Of course no one will stare at you or think you're weird.

*Hollow laugh*

I get there and NO ONE IN THE WHOLE PUB has even heard of any darn monthly Aspie meet, and THERE ARE NO ASPIES THERE and I start to feel like I'm going mad. I stand at the bar pleading with the staff to check and double check, and people are staring at me, and despite the fact that I've spoken to the organisers on the phone, emailed them countless times, and checked and triple-checked the date and location on numerous websites, and the info from all of those sources says I should be here, today, NOW, with fellow Aspies, NO ONE SEEMS TO KNOW WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT!

I get their Wi-Fi password and bring up the webpage on my phone and show it to the waitress to show her the venue is definitely supposed to be there, but she shrugs and says she doesn't have a clue.

I don't know what to do. Do I cry? Do I wait? Do I go home?