Aspie manager of an Aspie employee -Dilemma

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

Spawn195
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

17 Mar 2012, 10:53 pm

I'm an Aspie manager and have a problem with an employee who also is an Aspie.
The fellow has worked for the company for about 14 years and became a manager after 10 of them. He screwed up really bad after 3 years of being a manager and lost his position; this is when I was hired to fill it in due to his professional incompetence.

My issue is that he has been screwing up a lot lately. He has made comments that borderline sexual harassment, he has nearly burned the establishment down, he has not been helpful with his coworkers and many other mishaps.

I have talked to him and warned him many times about my concerns, yet I have seen very little change in behaviour. He also told me recently that he doesn't have any drive in life but to make enough money to pay rent and to get the bare necessities so he may live and play videogames on his own -pretty much what he has already established for himself already. With that being said, he has made it clear that he is not willing to change his bad habits in the workplace.

I'm at the end of my rope here. I have empathy for his Aspergers, since I have it too.
But his professional attitude is very poor and I really wish he would get his act together so he puts his many skills to good use.
I really don't want to fire him as a result of him messing up and causing a significant disturbance in the workplace or company.

Any possible solutions that would increase his attitude towards work would be greatly appreciated!

nat4200
Veteran
Veteran

17 Mar 2012, 11:08 pm

Redacted

Last edited by nat4200 on 21 Apr 2012, 1:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chronos
Veteran
Veteran

17 Mar 2012, 11:23 pm

Spawn195 wrote:
I'm an Aspie manager and have a problem with an employee who also is an Aspie.