Who here has done well in customer service roles?

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

as408
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

01 Apr 2012, 3:17 pm

I ask because I've been doing computer tech support for 4 years. From what I gather, any customer service job is traditionally very AS/AT unfriendly.
I've been working fulltime at my current job for 2 years. Gotta be doing something right.

Alexender
Veteran
Veteran

01 Apr 2012, 3:18 pm

I have worked at walmart lawn and garden, and am going to start that job again soon and did pretty well

NewlyHuman
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

01 Apr 2012, 3:21 pm

I am also in IT/tech support. But I find that only tangentially customer service, to me it is mostly problem-solving, and my work is also largely admin work with rights, etc.

But I worked as a telephone operator in a retail company for years. Hell. Absolutely horrific.

OICU812
Tufted Titmouse
Tufted Titmouse

01 Apr 2012, 6:36 pm

I've managed to work in customer service (Grocery Store) since Nov, 2010 but I'll probably be fired for circumstances beyond my control soon. I get anxiety talking to customers every now and than, especially on the phone. However I usually enjoy helping customers.

I don't deal with angry customers well at all though and usually just tune them out in an effort to get a manager quickly.

dark_angel198911
Hummingbird
Hummingbird

02 Apr 2012, 2:11 pm

I nvr had problem with customers despite working in customer service for 4 years. It's coworkers I had problem with. Now even that is resolved after my pre-employment training at an employment agency. I now work at Sam's club giving out samples and I get along with everyone real well.

OliveOilMom
Veteran
Veteran

02 Apr 2012, 7:50 pm