Page 1 of 2 [ 24 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

in2orbit
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

30 Oct 2013, 10:06 am

Hi,

I'm a designer currently working with a new autism diagnostic centre in the UK. Together we're selecting artworks to make the centre a more pleasant environment, to help us select artworks it would be great to hear from you and learn about what subjects and styles of art you like and more importantly don't like.

Look forward to hearing from you!

AutisticMillionaire
Snowy Owl
Snowy Owl

30 Oct 2013, 11:52 am

At first I was a little leery at the idea, at Autistic friendly art...but it makes some sense. I'm an aspie artist who makes NT friendly art so why not give it a try.
I'm talking about decor and not critiquing styles so don't be offended fellow artists.

I prefer classical styled art, oil and acrylic paintings with complex imagery.
Scenes are more interesting than mere faces, and when landscapes are used they should not be empty land. (Lighthouse on a beach, Cabin on a mountain)
Classical scenes of hunting, fishing, farming, and traditional skills in use. Whaling scenes, while archaic are interesting.
I often like images with water as part of the image, it adds movement and life to many works.

Dislikes
Modern art, impressionistic or surrealistic Keep those in galleries where folks want to interpret art. They don't blend with other styles and bring the whole feel of the room as garish and ill proportioned.
Watercolors, as they often cover themes autistics don't relate to and lack the depth of color to serve as decor compared to other mediums..
Images of large groups doing things I don't relate with. You don't want art making autistics feel more excluded. Watercolors often do this as they are often done in urban settings.
Animals, (in decorator art, I love animals) as it often appears childish if they are the central theme. (A retriever on the hunt would be fine, no doggy portraits though.)