Page 1 of 3 [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

lolcatwt
Blue Jay
Blue Jay

27 Dec 2013, 3:58 am

I'm smart, and I was taught at a very early age that I would have to fit in if I wanted to not be annihilated, so I've gotten really, really good at fitting in. I work as a counselor, and people think I'm really empathic. But the entire time I'm listening to people, it's like I'm playing a chess game. "Okay, he just said his dog is sick, so I need to crinkle my eyebrows slightly to express sympathy and sadness." It's terribly draining. I've been in plays since I was two, so I am very good at pretending to be someone I'm not. And I keep my office at work spotless and my work pretty well organized, so people have no idea how much I struggle at home with basic things like dishes and garbage. No one knows that I am sort of a hoarder. No one knows that I haven't had someone in my house for social reasons in years, only someone to fix my heater and my dishwasher. And no one knows that even though I'm 46, I've only had this one job in my entire life, because I've been so impaired. And I have no social supports, no friends, no significant other, no real family, and I've never been married or had children. But I play the game so well that I haven't told a single person, not even my therapist, that I think I'm on the autistic spectrum, because I know they would laugh at me. Even here, I've been terrified to write this, because people will read that I have a counseling job and tell me I'm not on the spectrum and I'm perfectly fine. I know I'm not the only one who's gotten skilled at faking it. I know there are actors like Dan Akroyd and Daryl Hannah on the spectrum. But I don't think I can explain this to anyone, including my therapist and my doctor.

It's only been since I've realized that I'm on the spectrum that I've started feeling fine. My whole life is suddenly starting to make sense. But I'm still terrified to say it.

hurtloam
Veteran
Veteran

27 Dec 2013, 7:42 am