Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

superpentil
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

07 Oct 2014, 5:55 pm

So this is my first year getting homeschooled, and more specifically, being enrolled in an online school. I must say, it is absolute garbage. The design (and by design I mean both the aesthetics and the way it works) of the website is atrocious. A 7 year old high off shrooms could've designed a better website and curriculum. The lack of efficiency is probably what bothers me the most. Everything in this takes 12 millions steps, all of which are completely unnecessary. I thought regular public school was bad, but this is 10 times worse! Those are just the beginning.

Has any one else had an experience like this, or is it just me? Using k12 by the way. This was not my idea, it was my parents.

Your neurodiverse (Aspie) score: 175 of 200
Your neurotypical (non-autistic) score: 37 of 200
You are very likely neurodiverse (Aspie)

AspieWolf
Veteran
Veteran

07 Oct 2014, 10:09 pm

Hmm, sounds like you ought to investigate some of the other programs and get some references from other users.

Some of us just have a little more madness than others!

superpentil
Sea Gull
Sea Gull

08 Oct 2014, 12:27 am

That's kinda out of the picture. My parents won't let me change to another program, even after a constant "nagging" (almost) about how much I hate it.

downbutnotout
Veteran
Veteran

08 Oct 2014, 5:15 pm

I took an online course once and struggled, even though I knew the subject well. The material often contradicted itself or used vague wording, so I opted for the most literal, precise option and got questions wrong.

Many instructors I find are a little disorganized and vague, and in-class it's easier to talk to them and clear up misunderstandings, interpretations of test questions, etc. I can ask how I should be interpreting a question where x doesn't technically create y but manages it and be told to not read too deeply into it.