Anybody here have trouble w/online or telephone socializing?

Page 1 of 3 [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

samizat
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

04 Apr 2007, 1:13 am

I absolutely positively will not use a telephone or answer one. I hate them. I get no visual, habit, idiomatic or true tone quality recognition markers through them. (I am way picky about music, too. Hifi all the way and my stereo and computer system is ridiculous.)

But this gives me trouble because I am also a writer and a musician - I have to be contactable to sell my stories or get gigs, so I am big into email...

unfortunately I tend to be lazy or frightened about public blogging where there is a community involved - Deviant Art, MySpace, even here at Wrong Planet. I tend to be very afraid of being judged poorly even though I am highly judgemental myself. Bad Taoist!

I am so afraid I will anger the wrong person or offend them and also, I am , of course, protective of my art. Bad thing for a growing writer and perpetual student so I am trying to get over it and actually read and post.

Anyone else find this stuff difficult?

GoatOnFire
Veteran
Veteran

04 Apr 2007, 1:33 am

I can identify. No one on WP likes me, I don't think... My first few posts were hard to come up with then I got more comfortable with the whole format, almost to the point of addiction. The socialization part is very hard though.

I despise talking on the telephone.

greenblue
Veteran
Veteran

04 Apr 2007, 2:17 am

I don't socialize on telephone and online either, relatives have told me about using MSN to talk with them online. I have one accound and had use it sometimes to get in touch to my brother but I don't talk to much even to him, he always asks me why I don't talk too much. I use it mostly in cases when I need it, but not to chat. Telephone is the same with me, is the same when I am talking with someone in person, they talk to me and I mostly say yes, no and just a few words