No one (almost no one) believes me about AS, confused

Page 1 of 1 [ 16 posts ] 

Holden14
Yellow-bellied Woodpecker

29 Nov 2016, 5:34 pm

Sorry everyone for using this forum so much at the moment.

I am feeling stressed and confused. In the past three months I have told more people I think I have AS than I had before. I haven't yet been diagnosed but I'm on a waiting list- I've never tried for a diagnosis before. 2 of the people are teachers and their reactions were that they didn't believe me/didn't think anything was the matter. One of them is my psychology teacher, ie informed in this area. I also told someone at such who's 2 years younger than me and has depression (she's 14). She then sent me messages on Facebook saying I don't have AS because I have empathy and a sense of humour and apparently I'm not allowed to if I'm an aspie. She went on to say I'm nothing like her autistic friends, therefore a neurotypical :oops: While it seems obvious she doesn't really know what she is talking about, I'm now worrying because the majority of people I've told don't believe me.

Has anybody else had an experience of loads of people not believing you? Should I just accept that I don't have it because no one thinks I do? Or can learnt behaviours cause this kind of reaction? One person who does believe me is my counselor which I guess counts for something.

Again, sorry for overusing this forum. I'm just so fed up with everybody :(

Shahunshah
Veteran
Veteran

29 Nov 2016, 5:42 pm

I think those people might honestly be trying to make you feel better. Having Asperger's is generally seen as a negative by many people so maybe they are trying to reassure you that you don't have it. I thin that should you get a diagnosis you will have definitive proof that you are in fact on the spectrum in which case they probably will believe what you have to say.