Doesn't Anybody F**k Any More? — Reddit edition

Page 1 of 6 [ 96 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

MaxE
Veteran
Veteran

31 Mar 2024, 9:39 am

https://www.reddit.com/r/GenZ/comments/1brlkbi/is_the_lack_of_sex_that_gen_z_is_having_actually/

An excerpt:

Quote:
Utapau301

21h ago

Edited 21h ago
I'm a college professor. I have noticed that students don't seem to "flirt" with each other, or "date" as much. I noticed it a bit in the 2017-19 period but it's very noticeable post Covid. I used to see more flirtation and couples formation going on in class. Now it's a lot less.

Increasingly, when I direct students to make groups of their own, they'll self-segregate themselves into all male and all female groups.
Just a couple weeks ago I did that, and this one very attractive young woman was the loner left without a group. She looked distressed and dejected about it. I had to place her in a group.

Bizarre! When I was a student I jumped at any chance to be in a group with one of the cute girls.

Upvote

Downvote

u/Popular_Surprise2545 avatar
Popular_Surprise2545

21h ago
I notice this in social settings too. Women and men just tend to separate and talk exclusively with each other in groups. Not sure if it's always been this way.

Upvote

Downvote

Utapau301

20h ago
When I was young, there was some of that dynamic but it seems more common & intense now.

In addition to self segregating, when they are in co-ed groups they seem more uncomfortable than they used to be. To such an extent, I'll see young attractive students just... leave each other alone. Whereas before about 2017 if there were guys and girls put together I'd see the guys flirt with the girls.

Upvote

Downvote

Popular_Surprise2545

20h ago
I think the thought process might be that people think flirting with women would ruin a friendship or acquaintanceship and that it's not worth it for the 1/10 or 1/20 chance you get a relationship, but that's just speaking from personal experience.

Upvote