I'm feeling like a failed high iq kid

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Highly_Autistic
Toucan
Toucan

04 Apr 2024, 4:11 pm

My iq test resulted as 148, this was 13 years ago and i think that was true.

I had special interests, like programming, coding games and tech.

Then i got mental problems like depression and anxiety. So these problems slowed me down in terms of pursuing my goals and interests.

After some time i got a 2 year degree in my field. But that's not really worth much so i went for a 4 year degree, but did not continue. At this time (age 26) i want to work or do something instead of studying among kids. But i also have less social skills and no network. At the same time i dont live in the us or canada. I'm residing in eastern europe so the opportunities are limited.

I always wanted to be somewhat successful. But ended up badly. I want to try reversing this situation but dont know what to do.

So i need your advices honestly about this situation.

autisticelders
Veteran
Veteran

05 Apr 2024, 12:48 pm

you are still quite young, and it is not too late to find a path to the future. You might be able to apply the skills you have learned to your most favorite interests. Find your best strengths, team them with your interests, and work them like a muscle! Learn what your personal best skills and weaknesses are and figure out some ways to either use them more or work around them. For example, if you can't do interpersonal interactions (customer service for example) there are many "in house" jobs where you might only interact with a team leader and a couple of co workers instead. There are a thousand different ways this could apply to you, depending on what your skills, strengths, and weaknesses are.

If you think you might want to do a certain job, try to learn from others already doing that job about its best and worst points.