Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

AnonymousAnonymous
Veteran
Veteran

Double Retired
Veteran
Veteran

15 Apr 2024, 7:30 pm

The article leaves me wondering whether cats might be the effect rather than the cause.

Might people inclined toward schizophrenia be more inclined to get a cat?

naturalplastic
Veteran
Veteran

15 Apr 2024, 7:32 pm

I remember reading a profile a science professor at my old university when I was a student there in the Seventies...almost as an aside and as after thought he said he had a theory that "cat ownership causes schizophrenia".

Well...I guess someone finally got around to testing his hypothesis and found SOME correlations.

I think its a conspiracy by the U.S. kennel club!

Last edited by naturalplastic on 15 Apr 2024, 7:50 pm, edited 2 times in total.

naturalplastic
Veteran
Veteran

15 Apr 2024, 7:33 pm

Double Retired wrote:
The article leaves me wondering whether cats might be the effect rather than the cause.

Do crazy cat ladies collect cats because theyre psycho...or are they psycho because they collect cats?

RedDeathFlower13
Veteran
Veteran

15 Apr 2024, 7:46 pm

naturalplastic wrote:
Double Retired wrote:

Do crazy cat ladies collect cats because theyre psycho...or are they psycho because they collect cats?

I think they're just lonely and desire affection from anything other than backstabbing humans. :cat:

lostonearth35
Veteran
Veteran

15 Apr 2024, 7:58 pm

I've loved cats all my life and I think whoever came up with the study is nothing but a total cat hater.

For most of my childhood and early teen years I couldn't own a cat because my mom is allergic. So why did I start having schizophrenia-like symptoms when I was around 12? And why were they gone by the time I did get a cat, which was when I was around 18?

The cat haters just want a justified reason for their outdated and ridiculous reasons for their bigotry.

RedDeathFlower13
Veteran
Veteran

15 Apr 2024, 8:30 pm