What types of stims do you folks use?

Page 1 of 5 [ 74 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

stlf
Veteran
Veteran

30 Jul 2004, 6:22 pm

I've been thinking alot recently about the stims that I engaged in as a child and those that I still do today and wondering what stims other aspies use. Mine are as follows:

Pacing- this is probably my primary stim. From as early as I can remember, I have loved to listen to music and pace back and forth or in a circle. The first instances of this that I can recall were when I was pre-school age and would listen to "The Ballad of the Green Berrets" over and over, while walking around the dining room table. As I got a little older, I graduated from the record player to a walkman and would listen to disney songs like "It's a Small World" and "Electric Light Parade" Having a tape player gave me the freedom to rewind a small part of a song quickly, so I would often listen to the same 30 seconds over and over. Although the type of music changed as I got older, the pattern of pacing for 3-4 hours per day continued through high school. It became such a part of my life that when I went to college the first year I was very anxious about what I would do if I could not pace. After all, not many room mates would understand why I wanted to spend my evenings with a set of head phones on walking back and forth in a dorm room!! The solution that I found was to walk outdoors. This way anyone who saw me would just assume that I was out for some excersize, and unless they were really paying attention would not realize that I was listening to the same thing over and over. For the most part these days this is still how I do the majority of my pacing. Instead or walking back and forth in a room, I walk back and forth over a distance of about a mile, but I do sometimes still pace in my apartment when I am home alone, and I still really enjoy it. I do not worry that my fiance will come home to find me pacing, as she is aware of my AS and my pacing hab