AS child w/interest in classic horror films

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

JohnnyG
Emu Egg
Emu Egg

27 May 2008, 10:56 pm

Hello,

I have a 12 year old son with Aspergers. I'm still learning about it all, however, from what I've heard it is not unusual for AS children to be very abrasive. Does anyone have a child who is on the other side of that...by that I mean one who is very sensitive and gentle? He quite honestly wouldn't hurt a fly. The problem is, it makes him a push over at school and he can easily be taken advantage of even by kids much younger than himself. The fact that he is so respectful and caring, I find refreshing in this day and age, however, I think that it may be hard to match him up with others who are on the gentle side like he is. By the way, his special interest lies in the old classic Universal horror films (Lon Chaney, Bela Lugosi, Boris Karloff, etc). No other kid is into this. For him to hook up with someone like this would be a dream!

Nan
Veteran
Veteran

27 May 2008, 11:02 pm

Oh, Bela Lugosi, Boris.... I loved those old films when I was a child. Saw every one of them. Graduated later on to the "Hammer" films.

Your kid has good taste! :lol:

krex
Veteran
Veteran

28 May 2008, 1:21 am

I don't have children but I was the child you are describing. I didn't throw fits or have noisy melt-downs, I cried. I am female, so that was more exceptable...it is very hard on the guys who are like that...I'm sorry.

Have you checked out any youth groups for aspies in your area ? I live in MN and I know we have one that several aspies get together and talk about all kinds of interests and play games together....I have an aspie friend who goes and he really likes the people there. If you don't have one...would you consider starting one?

I was also a horror movie lover as a kid (would sneak out of bed around midnight to watch them :oops: ). I also loved bugs and rocks and climbing trees...I didn't have a lot of friends either :wink: